

Village of Marwayne Box 113, 210 2nd Ave N Marwayne, AB TOB 2X0

780-847-3962 P 780-847-3324 F marwayne@mcsnet.ca

marwayne.ca

Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Council of the Village of Marwayne In the Province of Alberta, held on Monday October 13th, 2020 Commencing at 8:00 PM at the Horton Agencies Boardroom and via Zoom Video Conferencina

PRESENT

Councillors Cheryle Eikeland, Ashley Rainey, Rod McDonald, Tara Lawrence and Chris Neureuter

Chief Administrative Officer Shannon Harrower

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) S. Harrower called the October 13th, 2020 Village of Marwayne Organizational Meeting to order at 8:38 p.m.

2. NOMINATIONS FOR POSITION OF MAYOR

CAO S. Harrower called for nominations for the Office of Mayor.

Councillor A. Rainey nominated Councillor C. Eikeland for the 2020-2021 term.

CAO S. Harrower called a second time for nominations for the Office of Mayor.

CAO S. Harrower called a third time for nominations for the Office of Mayor.

As no further nominations were forthcoming, CAO S. Harrower declared nominations for the Office of Mayor closed.

Councillor C. Eikeland was declared Mayor by acclamation for the 2020-2021 term.

Mayor C. Eikeland subscribed to the Oath of Office before CAO S. Harrower, a Commissioner of Oaths for the Province of Alberta.

3. NOMINATIONS FOR POSITION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Mayor C. Eikeland called for nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor.

Councillor T. Lawrence nominated Councillor A. Rainey for the 2020-2021 term.

Mayor C. Eikeland called a second time for nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor.

Councillor A. Rainey nominated Councillor T. Lawrence for the Office of Deputy Mayor.

Mayor C. Eikeland called a third time for nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor.

Councillor R. Mcdonald nominated Councillor C. Neureuter for the Office of Deputy Mayor.

As multiple nominations were forthcoming, Mayor C. Eikeland declared that a vote be held for the Office of Deputy Mayor.



Village of Marwayne Box 113, 210 2nd Ave N Marwayne, AB T0B 2X0

780-847-3962 P 780-847-3324 F marwayne@mcsnet.ca

marwayne.ca

Mayor C. Eikeland declared Councillor C. Neureuter for the Office of Deputy Mayor by majority vote.

Deputy Mayor C. Neureuter subscribed to the Oath of Office before CAO S. Harrower, a Commissioner of Oaths for the Province of Alberta.

4. MEETINGS

Date and Time of Regular Village Council Meetings

2020-10-01-ORG

Moved By Deputy Mayor A. Rainey

Be it resolved that the Regular Village Council Meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. on the first and third Monday of every month except for July, August and December.

CARRIED

5. SUBSISTENCE RATES

Mileage and Meal Allowances

2020-10-02-ORG

Moved By Councillor T. Lawrence

Be it resolved that the mileage rate for conducting Village of Marwayne business be set to \$0.59 per kilometer and that the meal allowance be set to \$60.00 per day, or \$20.00 per meal (with receipts), in accordance with the rates established by the Government of Canada.

CARRIED

6. COUNCILLOR INDEMNITY

Rates for Meeting Attendance

2020-10-03-ORG

Moved By Councillor T. Lawrence

Be it resolved that Councillors for the Village of Marwayne receive \$100.00 per meeting attended, \$200.00 per diem for commitments over four (4) hours in length or in instances where the Councillor took time off work, and \$50.00 for speaking and/or special events. Be it further resolved that the Mayor receive an additional \$500.00 annually for the performance of additional duties as required.

CARRIED

7. COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Local Representatives for Community Boards and Groups

2020-10-04-ORG

Moved By Deputy Mayor A. Rainey

Be it resolved that the Village of Marwayne approve the following local representatives for the community boards and groups listed below for the 2020-2021 term:

- Lloydminster Regional Housing Group
 - o Councillor T. Lawrence



Village of Marwayne Box 113, 210 2nd Ave N Marwayne, AB T0B 2X0

780-847-3962 P 780-847-3324 F marwayne@mcsnet.ca

marwayne.ca

- Pioneer Lodge
 - o Councillor A. Rainey
- Northeast Alberta HUB
 - o Mayor C. Eikeland
- Northern Lights Library System
 - o Councillor A. Rainey
- Marwayne Public Library
 - o Mayor C. Eikeland
- Vermilion River Regional Waste Management Services Commission
 - o Councillor R. Mcdonald
- Vermilion River Regional Alliance
 - o Mayor C. Eikeland and Deputy Mayor C. Neureuter
- Fire Protection Committee
 - o Councillor A. Rainey
- Emergency Management Representative
 - o Councillor R. Mcdonald
- East Central 9-1-1 Call Answer Society
 - o Councillor T. Lawrence
- Community Futures Lloydminster
 - o Councillor R. McDonald
- Alberta Central East (ACE) Representative
 - o Councillor R. McDonald
- Development Authority
 - o CAO S. Harrower
- Subdivision Authority
 - o Jane Dauphinee of Municipal Planning Services
- Subdivision and Development Appeal Board
 - o Mayor C. Eikeland and Councillor A. Rainey
- Agricultural Society Committee
 - o Deputy Mayor C. Neureuter
- Economic Development Committee
 - Mayor C. Eikeland, Councillor A. Rainey and Councillor R. Mcdonald
- Intermunicipal Liaison Committee with the County of Vermilion River
 - Mayor C. Eikeland, Councillor A. Rainey and Councillor R. Mcdonald
- Go East of Edmonton
 - o Councillor R. Mcdonald
- Vermilion River Watershed Alliance
 - o Councillor R. Mcdonald

CARRIED

8. ADJOURNMENT

Being that the October 13th, 2020 Organizational Meeting agenda matters for the Village of Marwayne have concluded, the meeting adjourned at 9:04 p.m.

Approved this 26th day of October 2020.

Cheryle Eikeland, Mayor	



Village of Marwayne Box 113, 210 2nd Ave N Marwayne, AB TOB 2X0

780-847-3962 P 780-847-3324 F marwayne@mcsnet.ca

marwayne.ca

Shannon Harrower, CAO